Archive for March 28, 2012

Becoming a “Yes” man.

Posted: March 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve grown tired of my own frustrations. Wondering if I will ever be good enough to do something on my own. Being terrified of how I might look, others perceptions of me. I’ve had satan in my ear speaking words of failure over my calling, and life, telling me I am no good, telling me it will never happen, that someone else will steal the idea and someone else who is better than me will do it and that I suck-

Well, forget the Devil and screw the negativity that he brings because I am done with it.

My favorite song by my favorite band, Shane and Shane wrote these lyrics-

Embracing Accusation by Shane & Shane

The father of lies
Coming to steal
Kill and destroy
All my hopes of being good enough
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

The devil is preaching
The song of the redeemed
That I am cursed and gone astray
I cannot gain salvation
Embracing accusation

Could the father of lies
Be telling the truth
Of God to me tonight?
If the penalty of sin is death
Then death is mine
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

Oh the devil’s singing over me
An age old song
That I am cursed and gone astray
Singing the first verse so conveniently
He’s forgotten the refrain
Jesus saves!

————

This is the part of the song that makes me cry, every, single, time.

Oh the devil’s singing over me
An age old song
That I am cursed and gone astray
Singing the first verse so conveniently
He’s forgotten the refrain…
Jesus saves!

I didn’t go to church this past weekend and get all fired up about this, it just came to me. I am going to start this ministry, Laughter Doeth Good Ministries, and dagnabit, it’s gonna work! I am done with wondering, I’m not getting any younger and I had always just wondered, what if.

I am unsure of how every tiny detail will work out, but at least I am giving it a shot.

The purpose of this ministry is to simply, just, smile. I need to find my smile again. Somewhere along the way I lost it. Somewhere along the way of growing up, getting married and having this amazingly beautiful little girl, though all those brought happiness in one regard, I am still empty on the other because I had this calling that I was ignoring. I want it off the back burner, I want to stop saying “Ya eventually I will do that” or ” I’ve always known I was supposed to….”

I AM supposed to- so, why am I sitting on my butt not doing it?

Get busy livin, or get busy dyin.

Laughter Doeth Good is-

Laughter Doeth Good Ministries is a faith based outreach for anyone who has ever been down and the only thing that brought them back up was a good laugh.

Laughter Doeth Good Ministries, though brand new in concept and design, has roots dated further back than Methuselah. We are a ministry, ministering to the broken among us all. We are a ministry ministering to the people standing in the pew next to us. We are a ministry ministering to the beat down, the worn out, the ached, the pained, the worried, the sad, the lame, the hurt, the grumpy, the down and out, the weak, the strong, the courageous, and the ones who need encouraged.

Laughter Doeth Good Ministries travels across the nation to churches, youth groups, summer camps, conventions, hospitals, nursing homes, and revivals spreading the sounds of laughter, lighting up faces with joy, and giving a glimmer of hope to those who are weary.

Laughter Doeth Good Ministries wants to hurt you with laughter. We want to see tears flowing down your face. We want to put a cramp in your side, and a smile on your face.

Laughter Doeth Good Ministries, it’s just what the doctor ordered.

 

To be honest.

I had an interview for a second job 2 weeks ago to be a director for a partnership here in the Ozarks that helps “at risk” teenagers and I didn’t get it. I didn’t get it because I didn’t have the administrative experience that they wanted. I have 28 years experience growing up in the church my grandfather built from scratch, a ministry partner with my father who was a preacher, backing from numerous pastors in the state, numerous churches, volunteer groups, ministries, camps, rehab centers, and one on one mentoring with students where I’ve laid down my life to encourage them to live theirs the right way, dug holes with students hurting, sat next to homeless teenagers on the curb and talked about life, cried with them and laughed with them, watched them work through the issues and graduate programs that bettered their lives- and they, they…just… wanted someone who can fill out papers better than I can?!

I’m over someone else judging my character and skills.

I know I am a dreamer, but now, now… I’m a doer.

I am done being held back on things I am passionate about. That little devil on my shoulder isn’t going to get the satisfaction of telling me I can’t do it.

I am starting this ministry because I know, for one time in my life, I know it’s exactly what I am supposed to do. I am done worrying what others will think of me, spreading laughter and joy is what I am supposed to do- it’s just who I am. I am so tired of being someone else’s little peon busy worker bee-

 

I am keeping my job at the insurance office- hahaha- let’s not get too far ahead of ourselves here.

Daddy’s gotta pay bills-

And I also see and love the correlation between being a comedian and selling insurance, if I were a lawyer it’d be even better. What great jokes may come…

 

BUT

 

This is happening.

I can chose to let the power of words and fears control my life or I can speak positivity and love over myself and live this time here on earth how I always envisioned.

We have so many words of death we speak over our own lives. I hate this, I am starving to death, I can’t, it’s hard, but, but, but, I, I, I….ME ME ME…. SCREW YOU, DUDE!

GIVE UP! Let go, and Let God! Super cliche, super christianese, super convicting.

BUT

It worked.

I challenge you, no wait, challenge yourself to a wrestling match over negativity in your life and you can move mountains.

Speak words of encouragement over others, even the new guy at the office, 🙂 and you will be the change you want in the world. (Someone awesome once said that, and I totes magotes brought it back- booyah! )

Try things you had never had the guts to do. Feel the wind in your hair for once and just go for it, whats the worse that can happen? The world sticks it where the sun don’t sun? Boo hoo hoo- get back up and keep going. Great things happened by one dude getting an amazing idea and acting on it. My favorite George Washington Carver for example, who freaking knew that if you heat and smash a peanut your get the most delish butter in the entire world!? Look at him now, father of the best stuff on the planet, and, My hero. Bless you GWC, BLESS YOU!

So, with this said, go- go out into your world and do something for your own betterment. Something that you love. Get fired up! I will be cheering for you the entire way!

The longer you wait, the longer you wait.

 

 

 

 

 

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile, even though it’s breaking
When there are clouds, in the sky, you’ll get by
If you smile, through your fear and sorrow
Smile, and there’ll be tomorrow
You’ll see the sun come shining through
If you’ll….
Light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear, may be ever so near,
That’s the time, you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile,
If you’ll just….
Light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear, may be ever so near,
That’s the time, you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying?
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile,
If you’ll just….
Smile